Honorary members

Honorary members are distinguished scholars who are designated honorary members by decision of the Trustees. Honorary membership may be nominated by any member of the Association. Nomination should be communicated to the Secretary and must be signed by the candidate and sponsor. Decision regarding honorary membership are taken by the Trustees. (from Constitutional Documents: Membership)

present honorary members
Johannes Fabian
Jean-Claude Galey
Ulf Hannerz
Kirsten Hastrup
Shahram Khosravi
Adam Kuper
João de Pina-Cabral
Verena Stolcke
Marilyn Strathern

late honorary members
Joxemiel Barandiaran
Fredrik Barth
Louis Dumont
Raymond Firth
Sydel Silverman
Claude Lévi-Strauss
Eric Wolf